Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) Award for U.S. Graduate Students

Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint Get a PDF version of this webpagePDF


The Fulbright Canada Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math Award is an initiative of the Foundation for Educational Exchange between Canada and the United States of America (Fulbright Canada), in cooperation with the Department of Foreign Affairs Trade and Development Canada and six of Canada’s leading research universities. The STEM award is a three year award valued at some $120,000 (tuition, fees, and an annual stipend of $20,000).  

Canada is the home to top-ranked research institutions and leading research scientists. As such, Canada is a premier destination for scientific study and research. The Fulbright Canada STEM Award will offer an opportunity for a select group of U.S. students to pursue their PhD in Canada. They will study, conduct research, and be inspired in a technologically-advanced, diverse, and dynamic country.

Fulbright Canada has partnered with the following universities to provide the very best opportunities in both basic and applied fields of science, engineering and mathematics: McGill University, Université de Montréal, University of Alberta, University of British Columbia, University of Toronto, and the University of Waterloo. Fulbright Canada will work closely with the award recipients, partner universities, and our cooperating agencies in the United States to ensure the most appropriate for the grantee.

The Fulbright Canada Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math Award is currently suspended for the 2017-2018 academic year.

Applicants must be citizens of the United States of America.  Applicants must submit their Graduate Record Examination scores before December 31, 2015 and must have completed an undergraduate degree before August 1, 2016.  Applicants must be proficient in English and/or French.

Eligible fields of study/research include:

  • Aeronautics and Aeronautical Engineering
  • Agriculture (theoretical or research-based focus only)
  • Astronomy/Planetary Sciences
  • Biology
  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Energy
  • Engineering (aerospace, electrical, chemical, civil, industrial, mechanical, ocean, and petroleum)
  • Environmental Science/Engineering
  • Geology/Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Information Sciences/Engineering (engineering focus only; business-focused study is not eligible)
  • Materials Science/Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Neuroscience
  • Oceanography
  • Physics
  • Public Health (biostatistics or epidemiology)

How to apply:

The competition for awards taken up in the 2015-16 academic year is now closed. The current competition, for awards to be taken up in the 2016-17 academic year, opens May 15, 2015, and closes November 16, 2015

Application Package for 2016-17

Should you have any questions about the STEM Program, contact Fulbright Canada at

Are you ready to start your journey?